Rant!!!!!, Reality, Recruiting, Social Media, Social Recruiting, Twitter

Are you a good fit for this job?

Who – me? You’re asking me if I’m a good fit for your job?

Well gimme a minute. You know what I do, right? I’m a recruiter! Nearly every person who follows you is a recruiter, resume coach, PR firm, ATS guy or HR lady. This is one giant fishbowl of people who DO NOT do what your client needs. So why do you keep up the exercise?

Remember waaaaaaaayyyy back a few years ago before social media? Remember how you actually had to put together a presentation? You know – a list of features and benefits? A general summary of reasons your prospect MIGHT want to consider your opportunity? Remember when the goal was to connect with people who know the skills your client is looking for? Remember the phrase “Say what you need to say to people you need to say it to?”

Did that just go out the window? Is “sales” no longer in style? Has anybody (ANYBODY) replied to your job tweets? Ever? Really? (Don’t fib now – it’s just you and me talking here…..)

My guess is no. This is not your “Talent Community.” It’s a Social Media Mutual Admiration Society. We do not know anyone who does what you are looking for.

And by they way – before you go on and on about how careful you’ve been about your follow list…..I looked. There’s not a single (fill in the blank) on your list. Or at least in the last hundred of so people that are following you. They’re all guys and gals like me…..and you. It’s us here – not them!

If someone on your list just happens to be a…….C++ Embedded SW Eng in NYC….here’s an idea. Call them. Get to know them! Why just throw out a random tweet or FB update hoping it happens to cross their newsfeed at exactly the same moment in time their eyes are looking at the screen? I mean – you don’t think they’ve got you set up with your own Tweetdeck column, do you? Just hoping, PRAYING that some point in the near future you’ll randomly tweet “Are you a good fit for this job” in front of a list of buzzwords tailored just for them….do you?

So why are you still doing it? Does it make you feel better? Like – you’re really working here? Like – this is business?

Here’s a tip for you – it’s not. You’re wasting your time. “Are you a fit for this job?” is not business – it’s a joke.

Get it? You’ve been had.

18 thoughts on “Are you a good fit for this job?

  1. YOU HAVE A WITNESS HERE, BROTHER JERRY!

    I think we missed a seminar (of course we did) somewhere where this tactic, the term “reach out” replaced the “send out,” and recruiting became more about hoping people would call as a result of my compelling written words, perfectly placed somewhere where EVERYONE can see it than as a result of outstanding presentations via the thing that should be out of the cradle.

    The industry is begging for someone to leverage the technology with the kind of mentors we had – that taught us the business of doing what we do…and why.

    Now…Get on the phone and keep an eye on the wood pile.

  2. You know why I would still do it? Because like most recruiters, I network with other recruiters and THEY might know/have that candidate. Or is that an unheard of thing?? Anytime I can help a fellow colleague with a potential candidate, I do. Even if there isn’t anything in it for me.

    1. Hi Robin. No – connecting with other recruiters is not unheard of. A good percentage of my business is done with other recruiters. But realistically – they are recruiters I know “off line” so to speak. So we’re in touch more often than hoping they see a tweet from me. But I get your point. )

  3. Some great points for sure. The phrases “Are you a good fit for this job?” or “Are you the next _______” etc. do bother me. Not to say that Twitter isn’t a great medium for advertising and/or distributing open requisition messages. There are just far more effective methods than this laziness.

  4. As I understand it, Jerry, recruiters aren’t tweeting their “are you a good fit” tweets because they expect anybody to answer, they are doing it because google, at some point in its infinite wisdom, determined that if your site is appearing in a lot of tweets, you must be hot cookies, SEO-wise. So when some random C Embedded SW Eng in NYC googles job ads, the likelihood of your site ranking first page goes up. I don’t know if this is still true since google stopped indexing twitter, but this was the explanation offered by a prolific “are you a good fit” tweeter, and it’s the only one that makes sense.

      1. As I said, I don’t know if it works anymore because google stopped indexing tweets. There are a lot of dumb-ass (is that a cuss word?) social media practices (like using TrueTwit and auto-DMs) that continue to proliferate long past their best-by date, and tweeting an endless stream of “are you a good fit” ranks among the top.

      2. Certainly the SEO translating to Google is overstated. However, using hashtags (PROPERLY) on Twitter will without a doubt provide better SEO on Twitter. You have to fish where the fish are, but how you do it is most critical.

  5. I get where you’re coming from Jerry. Particularly the mutual admiration society bit. I also wonder how so many people manage to make money from being on a constant whirls of conferences. Maybe I am missing a trick? To me, recruitment has been made way too complicated, and at a time when there are genuinely fewer jobs around and more people in despair about their futures. I pity the jobseeker, I really do. The confusing messages being put out – job boards are good, job boards are bad, job boards are dying, you must be on Facebook, you must be on Twitter, you must be on Linkedin, you need to join a talent community, you don’t need to join a talent community…. confused? You will be if you’re looking for a job. And, when many candidates DO take the plunge and apply, they often don’t even get the common courtesy of a reply. What a soul destroying mess it must seem for so many just looking for a good old fashioned job opportunity. The recruitment waters have been clouded by so many different people with their own agenda preaching about how this way is the right way. As I say, I despair for the jobseeker sometimes. It all used to be so much easier.

    1. It is confusing to some. But, one should stick with tried and true methods for a finding and ideal job for them. In the past – it was networking. Currently, it seems it’s networking. Notice a pattern? The only thing that has changed is the medium — of networking.

  6. Occurs to me that a lot of people may be doing this exercise in futility to get their name out there to see if they can show up in the “online influencers” I throw one out there once in a while on local jobs because I follow many local people. Have never gotten a candidate from a tweet but have gotten calls from other local candidates. Have I placed one? Nope.

    The return on a tweet like this is about the same as buying a lottery ticket. I still buy one once in a while but it would a total shock to win five dollars.

    Agree with our friend in the UK. The whole thing with social media recruiting has turned the circus into a million sideshows created by people who are trying to make a buck truing recruiters to do something that doesn’t work. I think our whole industry is being scammed. Go back it’s a trick.

  7. Add in the mundane, pointless and alternative universe known as job boards to the twitter, post, update and whatever else masquerades as recruitment activity these days and you are totally correct Jerry it is a joke.

    Recently I was requested to undertake a high level of activity to boost our on-line presence, drive traffic to the website, increase our social media currency. Guess what, I increased traffic to the website to over a 1,000 hits a day. Did our margins increase? No. Did our phones ring off the hook with clients screaming to do business with us? No. Did we suddenly have a steady stream of incredible candidates who were falling over themselves to work with us? No.

    The only really measurable increase in anything was the number of totally inappropriate, obscure and sometimes totally baffling applications we received from totally random people in places I wouldn’t want to be able to pronouce.

    I do hope that we are seeing a shift back to the good old days when you actually had to sell solutions to clients, had to communicate effectively with all parties, when everything had more quality, thought, creativity and generally the recruitment industry was a whole lot more fun, when it was absolutely, first and foremost about people and not bloody technology.

    Oh and in my opening also include Applicant Tracking Systems, loads of alternative names for those, but none of them polite.

  8. I had one today thru Linkedin rather than Twitter:

    “I hope you are well.

    I am currently looking for a recruitment sales trainer to come and work for *DELETED*. We are looking for someone who has worked in recruitment, and has developed into a sales training role. The opportunity is relatively flexible in terms of hours and location. The successful candidate will be training consultants across London, Manchester and Bristol, so will need to be flexible to work across those locations. ”

    A lazy recruiter!

    Was I unwell the last time you spammed me a job or do you know me so well that it is important to ask?

    Do you really think I will send you a referral name because you asked?

    My biggest gripe with this is that my mobile number is on my profile AT THE TOP because I like to talk to people :{

    At least they can tick the box and say to whom ever “I did my best”

    If that is their best then I wish I was competing with them every day.

    I would like to say that this is the minority of recruiters. Based upon my inbox (3 like this in a fortnight) I would say not. Let’s not even talk about the fact I own my own business so employment is not high on my list of priorities and job opps is deleted from my Linkedin interests.

    I am pleased to say I train recruiters in better ways to secure good people…

Leave a Reply

